Books and exhibitions

Over the year I have been to some of the following exhibitions and read these books. This is not an exhaustive list.

Exhibition seen at the IVAM museum in Valencia November-December 2016

With this exhibition which was an exhibition staged by various different artist, the theme was ‘In the city’ a look at the development of Valencia from the 50’s till now. As such it was a historical urban exhibition that showed how various artist had experienced the city and at different times.


Books read during EYV

I had read these books on other occasions but during the course of assignment 4 for EYV they came in particularly useful for their study of light and studio photography. I find Langford a strong touchstone of technical and philosophical knowledge about photography and always appreciate what he has to say.


I both read through the book and watched the youtube documentaries by Berger, the documentaries being more engaging. He had made me think again, a bit like Sontag, of the motives for producing art and the effect of the image in our minds. A very thorough analysis of the image and its place and development through history. He also debunks a lot of the high flying ideas about classical art and its significance. One which I find brings clarity to my own ideas. Thank you Mr. Berger.

 

 


 

Leave a comment