Exercise 1.1 The instrument

PROJECT 1

Exercise 1.1 The instrument

For this exercise the remit is to take three to four images of the same scene. The objective is to measure and observe changes in the scene without re-framing or altering the camera settings.

As per the instructions I am shooting the images on P mode in my camera, which may be the first time ever that I have resorted to manual mode in the camera! It was a challenge to move out of M mode as that is what I am so accustomed to do. I use a Canon full frame mark II so it felt a little like using a porche to do the shopping. However, the theme of the camera being the basic measuring tool, I find interesting and the over identification with the tool rather than taking more interest in the photo also a useful view.

It is however useful to challenge ones assumptions and one’s private status quo’s about how things ought to be done.

Below are the four images taken at the place where I stay, on the balcony. They were shot at 16.29:29 on the 20th June in close succession.

First shot
First shot

First

 

 

 

 

 

Second shot
Second shot

Second

 

 

 

 

 

Third

Third shot
Third shot

 

 

 

 

 

Fourth shot
Fourth shot

Fourth

 

 

 

 

 

The scene is a banal so as not to distract the eye with too much detail. I think even with the naked eye one can detect small changes. In particular, the tree in the background above the chair has a movement, as there was wind, and so the light changes accordingly. The light shifts subtly in the scene between photos due mainly to this factor. I was surprised at one point to see a really drop in light in one of the photos for no apparent reason. I tool the images in close succession to minimise variation from the environment. This caused me to wonder about the camera and as I could not see objectively any change with the light, as I later saw withe the image, paging through.

Leave a comment