Exercise 2.4: Portrait

For this practice we needed to find a simple background with a shallow depth of field to create a standard head shot focusing the eyes.

I have taken and included both a horizontal and vertical frame so as the to compare the two images. For portraits it is common to use vertical framing but there are occasions when a horizontal frame seems to be more effective if we want to see something of the surrounding context and background.

The first set I took are below, they were okay, but I decided to shoot them again with a background that was more highlighted.

85mm     f/1.8      1/500

2.4

85mm        f/1.8        1/640

2.4

             Second set and chosen image which is the last one here below in the page

untitled-2
85mm   1/640    f/1.8

Final chosen image for the exercise.warmer

85mm   1/500   f/1.8

Of these images this is the one that I think works best as a portrait for this exercise. Why I think that is because the background enhances the portrait more than the first trial set,  producing a more interesting view. However, the fault of this image is that the lighting is a bit one sided. I had taken others using a reflector but this is the image that gave best clarity of the eyes. I did not use a reflector for this shot.

Leave a comment