Exercise 1.3 Line – perspective and abstract

PROJECT 2: VISUAL SKILLS

Exercise 1.3 Line – perspective and abstract

Perspective lines

In this exercise we are asked to seek out lines that lead to a perspective or an object in the distance or background. I have taken a set of images looking at the same object in three different perspectives in order to explore the use of line in this way.

First set of photos. I shot these using a 28mm fixed focal length lens in order to accentuate the lines towards the centre and put into effect a convergence of the lines of the street. The car in the distance is the object that is in the line end. The object is not particularly striking.

In the later images of this set I moved in closer to the subject in order to emphasise it more. That is more visually interesting I think than an object at such as distance.

The next set of image explore a different subject. The table is the object that the eye is led to, although I could not emphasise an interesting light for the table to make it stand out more. I think it needed this in order to be a valid object in this image. I made an experiment (although not a test shot!) of shooting an image off centre. The rest was photographed with the table sitting in the centre of the stairs.

The windows and the doorway also produce vertical lines wich enhance the eye movement into the frame and down into the table.

The third set of images also explore the perspective line, but with less elements and more clear line to the subject.

As is the case with lines, the more acute the angle and closer the line the camera, the stronger the line is perceived and leads the eye more directly to the subject.

Abstract lines

This first set came about because the of the distinct lack of vantage point of aerial viewing from where I stay. So I resorted to turning the camera up. Personally I like the perspective that is slightly off beat. I tried to use the buildings also to add the line and to help create the notion of ‘line in the air’

untitled-19

untitled-20

 

untitled-18

untitled-15

untitled-12

 

Set 2

Here I used shadow rather than solid object, a use of line which is a bit more elusive and maybe adds to the abstraction.

Set 3

This time I took the camera to architecture in a  more concrete way looking to explore infrastructure from the point of view of the abstract.

untitled-22

 

untitled-28

The single areal vantage point that I could find

untitled-23

 

untitled-3

 

 

untitled-4

 

untitled-5

 

untitled-7

 

untitled

Leave a comment